Discover Here about DWI Consequences Texas Drivers Have to Bear When They Break the Law
The DWI consequences in Texas are so severe most drivers would rather not drive while intoxicated than pay the huge price. If not for anything else, the punishment will follow you for many years to come, not to mention the high price you will end up paying in various ways. Here are some of the ways through which you will pay for driving under the influence in Texas.
Be advised that every time you repeat the same mistake, you will end up paying more than you paid for the first time. The legal recourse of a DWI ensures you are paying the price equal to the offense. For a first-time offender, you will be expected to pay $2000 from your pocket. Further, a first-time offender faces jail time of anywhere between three days and six months. There is also the possibility of having your DL canceled for a period of one year, and then paying an additional $1000 every year if you are to remain with your DL. By the same token, your fine will go up to $4000 if you are a second-time offender, you face jail time of up to a year, and your DL canceled for up to two years. Certainly, you should expect to pay out of pocket a whopping figure that is beyond $1000 every year if you are to retain your DL as a second time offender.
As if the cost of maintaining your car isnt high enough, you may need to pay more if you are to keep driving your car if you are a DWI driver. Assuming you are a second time offender having repeated the same mistake in five years or less, be ready to put in more cash to maintain your car on the road. In most cases, part of the resolutions for such a case entails the installation of a special device on your vehicle before it hits the road with you as the driver. This is a tiny device acting as a Breathalyzer whereby you will be expected to be blowing into it before you start driving your car. This gadget is not free of charge, often comes at a price of $100 every month just to have it installed and functioning in your car.
You may also be expected to enroll for a driving refresher course to learn and update yourself on the rules and regulations of driving in Texas. Further, expect to come out of the refresher course fully reminded of DWI consequences in Texas should you end up going against the driving rules and regulations.